CPCS Card Application

What is a CPCS Card?

The CPCS Card (Construction Plant Competence Scheme) shows that the holder has the training and skills needed to be employed as a plant operator within the UK’s construction industry. Organisations like the MHBG (Major Home Builders Group) and the UKCG (UK Contractors Group) rely on the CPCS scheme to identify trained plant operators and to ensure compliance with national safety regulations.

CPCS Training covers a number of core concepts, ensuring that every graduate has proper training on:

  • HS&E Awareness - identifying and avoiding potential dangers
  • Training - for different plant and equipment types
  • Classroom-based theory work - to better understand and prepare for the test
  • Testing - both practical and theory on your specific plant category

What Types of CPCS Card are there?

The Trained Operator (Red) Card

This card shows employers that you are trained on your chosen type of equipment, and have passed both your CPCS Theory and Practical tests and the CITB HS&E test.

The Competent Operator (Blue) Card

If you have already held a Red card and earned a relevant NVQ or SVQ in Plant Operations, you’ll need a Blue (Competent Operator) Card.

How can I qualify for a CPCS card?

You can qualify for a Red card by taking the required course and passing the appropriate tests at the end. Below are the CPCS courses we provide:

> CPCS A04 Tower Crane
> CPCS A09 Forward Tipping Dumper
> CPCS A16 Industrial Forklift
> CPCS A17 Telescopic Handler
> CPCS A21 Wheeled Loading Shovel
> CPCS A23 Skid Steer Loader
> CPCS A31 Ride on Roller
> CPCS A36 Lorry Loader
> CPCS A40 Slinger Signaller
> CPCS A56 Dump Truck (Articulated Chassis)
> CPCS A58 Excavator 360 (below 10 tonnes)
> CPCS A59 Excavator 360 (above 10 tonnes)
> CPCS A60 Mobile Crane
> CPCS A61 Appointed Person
> CPCS A62 Crane Supervisor
> CPCS A63 Pedestrian Operated Tower Crane
> CPCS A73 Vehicle Marshaller

To qualify for your Blue card, you will need to have achieved a relevant NVQ or SVQ, and pass the CITB HS&E test as well as the CPCS Theory and Practical tests.

You can add further endorsements and plant categories to your existing Blue CPCS card.

How long is a CPCS Card valid for?

A Red CPCS Card does not actually expire, but each category of machinery is only valid for 2 years. You are expected to take an appropriate NVQ or SVQ within 2 years in order to move up to a Blue card.

However, it is understood that some Red Card holders will not achieve NVQ or SVQ qualification within the allotted time, so the NVQ/SVQ time limit can be extended by a further one or two years in certain circumstances.

A Blue CPCS Card is good for a full five years. It can be renewed, provided you meet certain requirements and pass a renewal test.

How long will it take to receive a CPCS Card?

It will be roughly 15 working days from the day you send your paperwork and certification evidence before you receive your actual card.

What do I do if I lose my card?

All you need to do is contact CPCS directly at 0844 815 7274. They can issue a duplicate replacement card so long as your original card is still valid. You won’t need to take any tests or recertify, but your new card will have the same expiry date as your old card.

How do I renew my card?

Again, we recommend you CPCS directly at 0844 815 7274 for details.

Last updated: Monday 12 February 2018 09:22:22

Available CPCS Cards

Affiliated Cards

CCDO Card - Demolition Operatives

CISRS Card - Scaffolding Workers

CPCS Card - Plant Operators

JIB-PMES Card - Plumbing Industry

SkillCard - Engineering Services

Get your CPCS Card Today