Gold SKILLcard - Advanced Craft

What is a Gold (Advanced Craft) SKILLcard?

The Gold (Advanced Craft) SKILLcard connotes both advanced training and extensive experience working in the HVACR industry. It ensures that cardholders have the safety training and work skills to work essentially unsupervised on a construction site.

What qualifications will I need?

To gain a Gold (Advanced Craft) SKILLcard certification, you’ll need to have already passed one of several approved health and safety tests. The Construction Skills Health, Safety and Environment test is the one most applicants take, but there are other, more job-specific tests which qualify, including:

  • The HVACR Pipefitting and Welding test

  • The HVACR Ductwork test

  • The HVACR Refrigeration and Air Conditioning test

  • The HVACR Domestic Heating and Plumbing Services test

  • The HVACR Plumbing – Industrial and Commercial test

  • The HVACR Service and Facilities test

  • The HCACR Supervisory test

You must also have done one of the following:

  • Achieved an SVQ or NVQ level 3

  • Attained an Indentured Apprenticeship

  • Attained an informal Apprenticeship, along with either a CITY and Guilds or SCOTVEK certification within your trade.

How long is the certification valid?

The Gold (Advanced Craft) SKILLcard is valid for five years and can be renewed.

What is the next step?

Those workers who wish to move up from their Gold (Advanced Craft) SKILLcard and who wish to supervise other workers may seek their Gold (Supervisor) SKILLcard, after they have undergone further training.

Last updated: Monday 12 February 2018 09:22:22

Get your SKILLcard today