Blue SKILLcard - Experienced Worker

What is a Blue (Experienced Worker) SKILLcard?

The Blue (Experienced Worker) SKILLcard is intended for those HVACR workers who have no other formal qualifications in the industry, and were not able to gain another category of SKILLcard through Industry Accreditation.

A Blue (Experienced Worker) SKILLcard grants access to a worksite for these operatives, and shows that they have at least the minimum health and safety training and site skills work safely and effectively.

What qualifications will I need?

To gain a Blue (Experienced Worker) SKILLcard certification, you’ll need to have already passed one of several approved health and safety tests. The Construction Skills Health, Safety and Environment test is the one most applicants take, but there are other, more job-specific tests which qualify, including:

  • The HVACR Pipefitting and Welding test

  • The HVACR Ductwork test

  • The HVACR Refrigeration and Air Conditioning test

  • The HVACR Domestic Heating and Plumbing Services test

  • The HVACR Plumbing – Industrial and Commercial test

  • The HVACR Service and Facilities test

You must also be registered for an appropriate NVQ or SVQ Level 2 or 3, and have completed an assessed NVQ/SVQ profile.

How long is the certification valid?

The Blue (Experienced Worker) SKILLcard is valid for three years and cannot be renewed.

What is the next step?

Once the worker has achieved their NVQ or SVQ, they should seek one of the renewable 5-year SKILLcards, as appropriate to their new qualification.

Last updated: Monday 12 February 2018 09:22:22

Get your SKILLcard today