NEBOSH NGC in Occupational Health and Safety

What is the course?

The National General Certificate course is often taken by candidates looking to progress further into a career in safety, health and environmental management. It covers all the legal aspects of safety and health in all types of industry including construction, engineering and public sector.

The National General Certificate syllabus mirrors the requirements of the National Occupational Standards for Health and Safety. This is a Skills Council initiative creating baseline standards for health and safety and all large employers actively follow the code of practice.

Course content

The qualification is divided into 3 units which are assessed separately.

The units are:

How is the course taught and assessed?

The first two units are assessed by a 2 hour written paper consisting of ten short questions and one long question. Exam papers are marked by NEBOSH appointed external examiners.

The third unit is a two hour practical examination carried out in the candidate’s own workplace. The examination is designed to test the application of health and safety principles in a practical, real time environment. The assessment is to be taken within 10 days of the written examination and is carried out by the course provider and moderated by NEBOSH. Though units can be taken separately the certificate is awarded once all units are passed.

What qualification will I receive?

The National General Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health. This is equivalent to a level 3 NQF in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and level 6 SNQF in Scotland. This is widely regarded as A level standard.

What can I do next?

Many students progress to the National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety.

Entry requirements

No formal entry requirements. However as the National General Certificate is designed for supervisors and managers some practical experience is needed. A good working level of English is required.

Similar courses

  1. IOSH Managing Safely
  2. NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety
  3. NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety