NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational H&S

What is the course?

The National Diploma is designed to give students the knowledge to have a career in safety, health and environmental management. This is different from the other NEBOSH qualifications as it concentrates on health and safety issues in many different workplaces, not just construction.

Course content

The diploma is split into 4 units. These units are assessed separately and can be taken separately over a period of 5 years.

The units are:

How is the course taught and assessed?

There are 3 official NEBOSH workbooks. Course providers offer a range of teaching methods including mentoring, class based and home learning.

The Diploma is assessed by a 3 hour written examination for the first three units. The final unit is assessed by the completion of an 8000 word written assignment testing practical knowledge of safety and health theory and practice.

What qualification will I receive?

The National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety. The diploma is equivalent to a degree and allow successful candidates to use “dipNEBOSH” after their names.

What can I do next?

There are options to progress to management level qualifications.

Entry requirements

The National Diploma is considered a Level 6 professional qualification, equivalent to a degree so prior study, such as the National Certificate, or specific work experience in health and safety is required.

Similar courses

  1. IOSH Managing Safely
  2. NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety
  3. NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety